Adorable Spicy Glazed Onions

Adorable Spicy Glazed Onions

So, in the other parts of my life, cuteness is pretty important. I’ve been known to cause people I care about ear pain via enthusiastic squeaking when I discover or obtain some new adorable thing in my video game of choice. And yet, I generally edit out the shots of the cats sniffing the food because I am a Serious Cleverly Named Food Person and need to show that on my Serious Food Website. I’m considering revisiting this policy for many reasons, not the least of which is that one of those cats has a wheat problem and occasionally ends up with flour on his nose where a human would have a different white, powdery substance. (He also once ran off with a Nilla Wafer. Srsly.)

But then I found these adorable onions. And I love onions! And, as mentioned, cuteness! And salty-sweet foods! So I thought I’d love these, and lo, I was right. They weren’t quite as delicious as the mashed onions, but different, and certainly tasty in their own way! They were popular and got gobbled up right along with the chicken.

Adorable Spicy Glazed Onions, barely adapted from The Bitten Word

1-lb bag frozen pearl onions
2 T. butter
1 T. honey
1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper
1/4 tsp. white wine vinegar
salt and pepper to taste

Put the onions in a wide saucepan and arrange them snugly. Add the butter, honey, cayenne, and enough water to just cover the onions. Bring to a boil over high heat and cook until the liquid has reduced to a syrup and the onions are tender and a bit squidgy. (If the onions aren’t tender yet, add half a cup of water and keep cooking ’em.)

Drop the heat to low, add the vinegar, toss to make sure everything’s coated, taste for seasoning, and serve!

~ by iliadawry on 15 October 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
