Alice Springs Chicken

Alice Springs Chicken

I have been so quiet, when I have so many recipes to share! There have been Life Events, and Health Troubles, and all manner of things. Sorry, mostly, is what I’m saying. Thanks for sticking around. I’m gonna try and get back on the horse here.

Apparently, this is a copycat recipe from the Outback Steakhouse. Since I’ve eaten there all of once, I did not know when I made it that this was the case. I did know that it was chicken with bacon and cheese, though, so I was totally on board! I left out the mushrooms in the original recipe because they looked like they’d be slimy, and while I love mushrooms I don’t love slimy. They’d be great on the side, though. Someone who’s eaten at Outback a bit more should let me know how this compares!

It certainly went over well here. Everyone enjoyed it quite a bit, and it was also pretty easy to make, which was great. It does have a few steps, but they’re all pretty straightforward, and you can make some veg while it bakes.

Alice Springs Chicken, adapted from Manger à Trois

3-4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
Garlic powder to taste
Salt and pepper to taste
6 slices bacon, cut into lardons
1/4 c. Dijon mustard
1 T. whole-grain mustard
1 T. yellow mustard
1/4 c. honey
1/4 tsp. onion powder
1 c. grated Monterey Jack
1 c. grated Cheddar

Season the chicken with salt, pepper and garlic powder. Set it aside. Preheat the oven to 350F. Spray a 9×13 (or so) baking dish with cooking spray and set that aside too, but not on top of the chicken, please. That would be messy.

Cook the bacon in a skillet until it’s crisp. Drain on paper towels. Turn up the heat on the skillet and cook the chicken breasts in the rendered bacon fat until lovely and brown. Plop the chicken breasts in the baking dish.

Mix the mustards with the honey and onion powder. Brush the mixture on both sides of the chicken breasts. Sprinkle the bacon on them evenly and top them with the shredded cheese. Cover with foil and bake for 30-45 minutes, until the chicken is cooked through. Serve!

~ by iliadawry on 30 September 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
