Strawberries and Cream

Strawberries and Cream

This is pretty much the way spring tastes to me. Strawberries are my favorite fresh fruit, and this is my favorite way to eat them. The recipe is forgiving; if your strawberries are a little old and wrinkly, it doesn’t matter! Sprinkling them with sugar makes them give up their juices, and then the cream covers all the sins. It’s dead simple as-is. If you’d like it to have a little more structure you can whip the cream a bit, but I prefer it this way. You can serve it over cake or biscuits or eat it with a spoon (my favorite!). It’s popular around here, too — if I make a tub I have to eat it quickly if I want it!

Here I’ve served it on a toasted croissant, which is nice if you want something bready with it (and soaks up the cream deliciously), but seriously, I usually just eat this stuff with a spoon.

Strawberries and Cream

1 lb. strawberries
1-3 Tbsp. sugar
1/2 c. heavy cream (or to taste)

Hull the strawberries and halve them (or quarter them if they’re smaller). Taste one to see how sweet they are. You need to add a little sugar so the strawberries will ooze delicious juices, but how much depends on the sweetness of the strawberries and your taste. Shake or stir the strawberries and sugar, as appropriate, and stick them in the fridge for a couple of hours (or overnight). Add the cream before serving.

This will also work with milk (though I don’t recommend skim), and likely with non-dairy milks, but the cream version is amazing, velvety and unctuous.

~ by iliadawry on 29 July 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
