Lemon Garlic Chili Shrimp with Warm Corn Quinoa Salad

Lemon Garlic Chili Shrimp with Warm Corn Quinoa Salad

Two conflicting facts in my life: I love shrimp, and I hate peeling shrimp. This causes issues, as you might expect. Also, shrimp are expensive, so I have them fairly rarely. I grew up in shrimpin’ country, so they’re a pleasant reminder of home even if I don’t like cold boiled shrimp, which is the most common preparation around my childhood kitchen. As a result, I’m always looking for recipes that remind me of home without being OF home, because why would I take an expensive ingredient and gross it up?

This recipe is heavily adapted from one I saw on TV when I had a big bag of shrimp in my freezer. It seemed like an obvious choice to make as-is, but then I started tweaking it — added some herbs and spices, reduced the butter, etc. It’s best served with some crusty bread, but I didn’t have any at the time. Mind, that didn’t stop anyone from gobbling these guys up — this recipe turned two people in the house (me included!) into eaters of shrimp shells. Yum!

Lemon Garlic Chili Shrimp with Warm Corn & Quinoa Salad, adapted from the Pioneer Woman

Shrimp:
2 lbs. shrimp, frozen (I used 31-40s)
1 stick butter, very cold, cut in chunks
juice of 1 lemon
3 cloves garlic, smashed and peeled
3/4 tsp. smoked paprika
1/2 tsp. chili powder
1/2 tsp. cumin
1/2 tsp. coriander
1/4 tsp. dried oregano
1/4 tsp. dried chili flakes
pinch salt

Salad:
2 Tbsp. bacon fat (or butter, or olive oil)
1 small onion, diced
2-3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 – 3/4 c. frozen corn
2 c. low sodium chicken broth
1 c. quinoa
zest and juice of 1 lemon
salt and pepper to taste

Preheat the oven to 375F and line one large or two less-large baking sheets with foil.

Rinse the shrimp to separate them and remove any egregious ice chunks. Dry them a bit and spread them out on the baking sheets.

In a food processor, combine the butter, lemon juice, garlic, paprika, chili powder, cumin, coriander, oregano and chili flakes. Pulse until it’s blended. If it’s still cold enough to be crumbly, sprinkle the crumbles over the shrimp. If it’s not, well, smear it over the shrimp. Bake them for 25-ish minutes, until cooked through and delicious smelling.

While the shrimp are cooking, heat the bacon fat in a saucepan. Cook the onion until golden brown, add the garlic and corn and cook until fragrant and delicious. Add the chicken broth and bring to a boil, then stir in the quinoa and season. Bring it back to a boil, clap the lid on and simmer for 15-20 minutes, until all the liquid is absorbed.

Stir in the lemon zest and juice. Taste for seasoning. Serve topped with shrimp and drizzle with the melted shrimpy barbecue butter!

~ by iliadawry on 3 June 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
