Smoked Paprika Chicken Thighs

Smoked Paprika Chicken Thighs

I’m kind of a sucker for Best Thing I’ve Ever Made, on Food Network. I like seeing into people’s lives — and what fancy chefs eat at home. And I like chicken dinners. So this recipe from Alton Brown was kind of a no-brainer for me. Plus, bonus, I got to use my mandoline! I like doing that. Otherwise it languishes in the back of the cabinet, being sad with the extra ramekins and the brulee torch without any juice.

I thought this definitely had potential! There was a little too much marinade for the amount of chicken I made, which made it a bit grainy, so I’ve upped the amount of chicken for your eating pleasure. The roommate liked it a great deal, though, and has claimed the leftovers. For all that I thought the chicken was imperfect, though, the potatoes and onions were delicious, and I ate plenty of those!

Smoked Paprika Chicken Thighs, adapted from Alton Brown

3 Tbsp. smoked paprika
1 tsp. salt
4 Tbsp. olive oil, divided
8 bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs
8-10 medium Yukon gold potatoes, sliced thin (on mandoline!)
1 onion, inexpertly Frenched (or sliced)
16 large pimento-stuffed green olives
zest of one lemon
2 cloves garlic, grated
salt and pepper to taste

Mix the paprika, salt and 2 Tbsp. of olive oil. Rub the chicken thighs on it and let them hang out for an hour or so.

Preheat the oven to 375F and grease a sheet pan. Scatter the potatoes and onion over it, drizzle with the remaining olive oil, and season to taste. Toss all that together.

Chop the olives rawther fine and mix them with the lemon zest and garlic. Retrieve the chicken and separate the skin from the meat enough to make a pocket, and stuff a bit of the olive mixture into each of those pockets. Keep stuffing until it’s all gone! Set the thighs on the potatoes.

Bake the lot for an hour or so, until the chicken is done and the potatoes are soft. Serve with a salad.

~ by iliadawry on 29 May 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
