Hoisin Beer Short Ribs

Only a few years behind the trends!

I do adore short ribs. I grew up eating them in a lovely braise, but hoisin sauce is fairly new to me — only in the last decade or so have I discovered its deliciousness. And let me tell you, I am thrilled! It has all the things I like about barbecue sauce (the sweetness and complexity) with none of the things I don’t (bottled sauce often tastes artificial to me). So its use in something like this is definitely something that drew my eye to the recipe. Add my love of beer braises and my love of short ribs, and this was kind of a no-brainer. Just had to wait until short ribs went on sale.

The roommates liked the melting quality of the meat a great deal. It’s beefy enough to stand up to a complex, flavorful sauce, and the combination makes both better. There weren’t any leftovers to deal with, which is always nice for me, as resident kitchen cleaner as well as resident meal-cooker… though I wouldn’t have minded a short rib or two for lunch, I have to confess!

Hoisin Beer Short Ribs, barely adapted from The Bitten Word

2-3 lbs. beef short ribs — about 10 ribs. Lower weight if boneless.
3 Tbsp. oil
12 cloves garlic, smashed
1-inch piece of ginger, peeled and sliced into coins
12 oz. good ale (plus more for chef)
3 Tbsp. rice vinegar
1 c. hoisin sauce
salt and pepper to taste

Heat the oil in a large Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Dry the ribs and season with salt and pepper. Brown them on all sides in batches until they have a lovely color, removing them to a plate once they’re browned. Add the garlic and ginger to the remaining oil once they’re all cooked and let them sizzle for a moment, then deglaze with the ale, scraping up any brown bits. Return the ribs to the pot and add the beer and vinegar. Stir, bring the pot to a boil, drop the heat to low and simmer with a lid on for 2 1/2 hours.

Preheat the oven to 300F and add the hoisin sauce to the pot. Leaving the lid off, bake for 30 minutes. Remove the ribs and the chunky ginger and garlic from the pot and skim off the fat. Serve the ribs with the remaining sauce. Yum!

~ by iliadawry on 13 May 2013.

3 Responses to “Hoisin Beer Short Ribs”

  1. MAN! I am totally going to break my “no red meat cooked at home” rule for these.

    AND I CAN’T WAIT!! 🙂

  2. Oh, and I also break that rule for bacon. Cause I’d prefer to stay married.

Leave a Reply

 
