Gougères

Pâte à choux is something I’ve cooked before, though it’s been more than a decade. I wasn’t sure if I still had the culinary chops. I also didn’t remember using a mixer either of the other times I made any. Fortunately, I DO have the chops, and the mixer worked fine! Cream puffs, here I come! Maybe! Someday! Not today though.

In any case. Churrascarias tend to have them, in my experience, and they tend to waver between “delicious” and “sad doughy sacks that taste only vaguely of cheese.” I was definitely going for the former. If the rate at which my roommates chewed through these is any indication, I achieved it, yay! Next time I think I’m going to try them with super duper sharp cheddar, as the recipe I adapted suggests. They’re fairly easy for a bread product, on the level of biscuits with more stirring and less butter-cutting. Turns out pâte à choux is way less alarming than I remembered.

Gougères, adapted from Crepes of Wrath

1/2 c. whole milk
1/2 c. water
1/2 c. butter
1/4 tsp. salt
1 c. all-purpose flour
5 eggs, room temperature
1 1/2 c. shredded gruyere

Preheat the oven to 425F. Line a couple baking sheets with parchment.

Heat the milk, water, butter and salt to a saucepan. Bring to a boil over high heat. Once it’s boiling, add the flour, drop the heat to low, and beat with a wooden spoon until you have a smooth paste turning into a ball. It doesn’t take very long at all! Pull it off the heat, dump the dough ball in a bowl, and add eggs one at a time, beating with an electric mixer until each egg is incorporated. Once they’re all mixed in it should be cool enough to add the cheese without melty drama; stir that in with the wooden spoon. Drop the dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto the parchment, about an inch apart.

Put the trays in the oven and immediately drop the temperature to 375F. Bake for 14 minutes, rotate the trays, and bake for another 12 minutes. Serve alongside something delicious for dipping!

 

~ by iliadawry on 25 July 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
