Hail Mary Curry Chickpeas

Hail Mary Curry Chickpeas

As you may be able to see from the menu, I was planning to make curry roasted cauliflower. Except I forgot to buy cauliflower. Twice. And don’t actually own curry powder, though that one’s on purpose. So I looked up some curry powder recipes and made my own, and added some other stuff to a can of chickpeas, and got a really solidly tasty side dish that surprised the crap out of me. A culinary Hail Mary pass!

Quick Curried Chickpeas, with apologies to Alton Brown for not having whole spices

1 can (14.5 oz.) chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 Tbsp. ghee or oil
1 medium onion, chopped fine
2 cloves garlic, grated
1 can (5.5 oz.) tomato juice*
1/4 c. heavy cream
1/4 tsp. ground cardamom
1/4 tsp. ground cumin
1/4 tsp. ground coriander
1/2 tsp. ground turmeric
1/8 tsp. dry mustard
1/4 tsp. cayenne
1/2 tsp. garam masala
1/2 tsp. brown sugar
salt to taste

Heat the ghee or oil in a medium saucepan over medium heat. (Medium!) Add the onion and cook until soft and beginning to pick up a bit of color, then add the garlic and stir around until it smells delicious and is beginning to brown. Add the chickpeas and stir until they’re sufficiently be-alliumed and coated in the fat, and then add the tomato juice. While that’s coming to temperature, add all the spices and the sugar; let them bubble away for a moment or two. Drop the heat to low and add the cream, letting the beans simmer to mellow out the flavors. Serve with… other Indian-y foods. I liked these smeared on garlic naan, myself.

*Listen, I know buying in bulk is the most budget friendly, but even if I use ALL the recipes I know with tomato juice in them, I won’t use up a bottle of tomato juice before it goes bad. For me, the six-packs of cans are super convenient, and since they take a super long time to go bad, it works out!

~ by iliadawry on 12 July 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
