OMFG Roasted Potatoes

OMFG, Roasted Potatoes!

Y’all. Seriously. These are so good. SO GOOD. They’re ridiculously delicious. My roommate asked me if I wanted him to save some for lunches for the week, ate one, and calmly scooped the rest of the potatoes on the baking sheet onto his plate, ignoring my answer entirely. I count that a success, particularly considering that I briefly weighed the merits of wrestling him for them. The evil secret is, of course, bacon fat; since I am a Southerner by birth, I have a jar in my fridge. You should too!

OMFG Roasted Potatoes

1 1/2 lbs. small yellow potatoes (I think these were Dutch golds?)
1/4 c. bacon fat, melted
Seasoning to taste — I used about 1/2 tsp. of the rub from Spicy Honey Chicken Thighs, 1 Tbsp. Trader Joe’s Everyday Seasoning, 1 tsp. salt and 7 or 8 grinds of black pepper.

Preheat oven to 400F.

Scrub potatoes, dry, and cut into small bite-size pieces. I think mine were maybe 1/2″ or 2/3″ on a side? It is important to start with them dry. Put the cut potatoes in a bowl, drizzle with the bacon fat, add the seasoning and stir a bunch; everything should be evenly distributed.

Line a rimmed baking sheet with foil and spread potatoes into a single layer. Roast for 35 minutes or so, until ridiculously crisp and delicious. Really, these things are so good.

~ by iliadawry on 6 July 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
