Garlic Noodles

Garlic Noodles

In a rare bout of food-based agreement, both of my roommates have declared they’d kill me if I stop making this. I’ve even gone so far as to keep the recipe something of a secret from them so I retain my value as a housemate.  In other words, it’s pretty popular around these parts, and I’m always glad to have leftovers when I can manage.

Garlic Noodles, adapted from Budget Bytes

1 lb. angel hair or capellini
1 pkg. Chinese sausage*
1 bunch green onions, chopped
8 cloves of garlic, grated
3 tsp. sesame oil, divided
2 Tbsp. soy sauce
1/4 c. brown sugar
1/4 c. oyster sauce

Heat 1 tsp. sesame oil in a large skillet (or a wok, if you’re fancy. I’m totally fancy). Slice the sausage fairly thinly and put it into the hot oil, stirring occasionally and mostly benignly ignoring it as you put pasta water on to boil, chop the scallions and grate the garlic. Ideally, the sausage will be slow enough to brown that you can also mix up the rest of the sesame oil, the soy sauce, the brown sugar and the oyster sauce and set them aside.

Drop the pasta when the water is boiling, salting as it goes in. Cook according to package directions.

Once the sausage is browned and crispy, pull it out and turn up the heat. Add the green onions and the garlic to the fat left in the pan, and cook for around a minute, until they smell quite strong. Add the sauce mixture and bring it to a boil, stirring until the sugar is dissolved. Turn off the heat and return the sausage to the pan, tossing well to mix it back in. Drain the pasta and add it to the sauce, stirring vigorously to coat and try and get the sausage integrated (it never really works for me, but I keep trying). Serve!

*Chinese sausage is a harder cured sausage with sweet notes. If you can’t find it, you can use smoked sausage from the megamart, but you might want to up the sugar a bit.

~ by iliadawry on 15 June 2012.

4 Responses to “Garlic Noodles”

  1. OMG I love chinese sausage (lup chong?) I am struggling to find it in London, but can always find it easily in Australia.

    • I wish I could help! The package for mine is all in Chinese, which I don’t speak at all. It’s really delicious, though. I’m fortunate that I live in a place where I can easily get a wide selection of international foods.

  2. This looks SO delicious! The best recipes are secret recipes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
